This is me: Charlotte Stoopman

IMG_1954

  • Charlotte Stoopman
  • 19 years old
  • Dutch

Hello!

My name is Charlotte. I’m from The Netherlands however, I have been living abroad since I was young. I have lived in Sweden and in Dubai. It’s surprising how many people (outside the expat community) don’t fully understand the concept of being an international student. I’ve had to explain countless times that I’m Dutch and that I only lived in Sweden but am not from there. Besides the explanations, I think there is only positive things about living abroad. It allowed me to discover that I love to travel and see the world. I feel so lucky that I have had the opportunity to see the world already. I have gone to some amazing places and learned a lot about the different cultures. I have traveled to places like New York, Africa, Japan and a few other Asian countries, and a ton of places in Europe.

Some of my hobbies and interests are building and designing things, mostly furniture, as well as cooking, baking and nail art. I love to do sports however I don’t have the best relationship with sports. You see, I have broken a lot of bones while playing sports, I could write a list but then we will be here until tomorrow, because of this I have decided that I should limit myself to water sports and snowboarding.

My journey of living abroad has come to a pause when I decided to move back to The Netherlands for the Industrial Design Engineering (IDE) course at The Hague University of Applies Sciences. I say pause because in the future I really want to keep moving around and learn about a lot more cultures. I chose this course because I have always wanted to do something in design but was never sure on what exactly. When I found this course I felt like I could connect to it. The information I found about the course just described exactly what I was looking for and now I’m here starting my first year of IDE.

il_fullxfull.754846532_hmtp

One thought on “This is me: Charlotte Stoopman”

  1. Cool to read you’re into furniture building! Last year I have done quite some carpentering myself.

    I wish you good luck in your studyings adventures, break a leg 😉

    Like

Whats on your mind?

